Cheviot is a small country town nestled in rolling farmland just 8 kms away from the beach at Gore Bay. Cheviot has all the main services and facilities including a golf course 3 kms away, tennis courts and playgrounds.

Cheviot Museum is a vast source of information about the unique history of the formation of Cheviot, which was previously named McKenzie and renamed Cheviot in 1926. There are many interesting artifacts including a display of Moa bones discovered close to Cheviot.

Cheviot Hills Domain

Cheviot Hills Domain

A walk or a picnic in the Cheviot Hills Domain is to go back in history. Cheviot Hills Homestead (foundations), was a Cob House built by John Scott Caverhill for his manager in 1852. Purchased by “Ready Money Robinson”, this became known as the Mansion House. The building was not completed until 1888 and burnt down in 1936.

The manager’s house built in 1867, is at the entrance to the Cheviot Hills Domain (from the Gore Bay Road). At the back of this house is the Bell Tower erected in 1870. This was used to signal the start and end or the working day and for emergencies.

Access to the Domain can be gained from SH1 on the south side of Cheviot, about 10 minutes walk from here, or from the road leading to Gore Bay.